Chakra 101: A Beginner’s Guide to the 7 Chakras

Chakra 101: A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

In science, we learn that energy cannot be destroyed. It can be transferred but never diminished. If you’ve been to a yoga class or practice meditation, you’ve likely already heard about chakras. Passed down through oral histories and Vedic texts in India, chakras are the regions of the body that store energy.

This sacred or universal energy is within us all. And to study the 7 chakras is to study how energy moves in your body. It is believed that when a chakra is blocked, energy cannot flow, and therefore physical or emotional symptoms can manifest.

Because each chakra is associated with a color, when you work with a specific chakra, you can meditate on the proper tone or even wear clothes in that color to connect.

Root Chakra

The most base chakra is concerned with our feeling grounded and protected in the most basic ways. Money, food, stability fears can manifest in lower back pain, constipation, and sciatica.

Sacral Chakra

A source of pleasure, creativity, and desire. This is a generative energy, and when out of balance can manifest as UTIs or sexual dysfunction — or creative blocks.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Our self-confidence source is located here. When we feel out of control of our lives or have low self-esteem, we can experience ulcers, digestive issues, and heartburn.

Heart Chakra

East and West collide in the heart center. Our ability to experience love and joy resides here. But as it sits in the center of upper and lower chakras, when it is imbalanced, all energy centers feel it.

Throat Chakra

When in alignment, our ability to verbally communicate and receive communication with compassion is at its peak. When blocked, gossip and an inability to speak truth fester.

Third Eye Chakra

When we are connected to our third eye chakra, we can be guided by our inner knowing and intuition. It allows big-picture thinking and helps us make correct decisions. When blocked, this energy imbalance can manifest as headaches, aural processing dysfunction, and concentration problems.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the highest. It connects to all the chakras below and opens up to the energy of the universe. The chakra of spiritual enlightenment and purpose, when it is open, we experience bliss.

Scroll to Top