Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

Also known as Anahata (Sanskrit) which means unbound or unstuck. It refers to how we become free from material measures of success. Money, cars, fame cease being the measures of achievement.

Purpose: Balance and love.

Natural right: To love and be loved.

Colour: Green

Location: The chest.

Element: Air.

Instinct: love.

Psychological aspects: Love, hope, surrender to another, compassion, intimacy.

Endocrine Gland: Thymus.

Positive seeds of the heart chakra: Selfless love, forgiveness, compassion, empathy, Joy.

Negative expressions/saboteur, ego aggrandizement, resentment, selfishness, grief,     abandonment, loneliness, betrayal.

Sense: Touch.

Quietening fragrances: Sandalwood, Rose.

Stimulating fragrances: Pine, Honeysuckle.

Crystals: Green calcite, Azurite, chrysoberyl,

Gemstones: Emerald, Amber, Jade, Rose, Watermelon tourmaline.

The heart chakra is located at the cardiac plexus, in the centre of the chest, not over the heart itself. It is the axis of the chakra system. Just as the belly is at the centre of gravity of the physical body, the heart is the centre of the luminous body.

The thymus gland is regulated by the heart chakra. The thymus is responsible for cell-mediated immunity. It is one of the main players in the immune response, critical in the development of B and T lymphocytes, the body’s “killer cells” Persons with a depressed immune system respond excellently when the heart chakra is cleared.

Freedom, Joyfulness, and an abiding peace becomes the hallmark of a person who dwells in his heart chakra. It is the centre from which we form our families and discover love with our soul partners and our children.

Through the heart chakra we share and experience love. This is the most mis-understood chakra in the body, because the quality of love of the heart

chakra is not romantic love or even affection. The heart chakra thrives on the love of creation, it is selfless. It is an end in itself. We simply need to surrender to love, to

translate love from a feeling to a practice and a meditation. We need to stop falling in love and become love itself.

One of the negative expressions of the heart chakra is an infatuation with the self. We all know people who claim to know that “love is the answer” who sprout all the right clichés about love. These individuals are more interested in demonstrating their “enlightenment” than in practicing charity or selfless love.

Another negative expression of our love instinct is the inability to show compassion for ourselves. When self-love is absent, we become stuck in self-criticism and shame. An impaired heart chakra makes us unable to commit to an intimate relationship. This person will run away at the moment he feels vulnerable, often using work or other distractions to keep himself from his beloved. A balanced heart chakra allows us to commit to intimacy in love.

It integrates the masculine and feminine principals within us, and we no longer seek our “missing half” outside ourselves. The heart centre allows us to recover an innocence that makes us playful and inspired. We know who we are and accept ourselves, which  brings us joy and peace.

Disorders of the heart are: heart, lung’s thymus, breast and arms, shortness of breath,

Circulation, asthma, immune system, chest, shoulder and upper back pain, blood           pressure.

A Healthy heart: Strong immune system, balanced, compassionate, emphatic, self-loving, loving, peaceful. Good relationships, intimacy, reaching out and taking in.


In the golden centre of the rose of the heart may tender compassion be linked to unconditional  love.